Each Sunday our scripture reading come from the Revised Common Lectionary
 
This page provides for you the RCL readings for each day of the year
Use this as a daily reading plan, and as a way to prepare for Sunday mornings
 
For more information about the Revised Common Lectionary
scroll to bottom of page for resources
 

May 2017, Year A

 

Monday, May 1, 2017Psalm 134; Genesis 18:1-14; 1 Peter 1:23-25

Tuesday, May 2, 2017Psalm 134; Proverbs 8:32-9:6; 1 Peter 2:1-3

Wednesday, May 3, 2017Psalm 134; Exodus 24:1-11; John 21:1-14

Thursday, May 4, 2017Psalm 23; Exodus 2:15b-25; 1 Peter 2:9-12

Friday, May 5, 2017Psalm 23; Exodus 3:16-22, 4:18-20; 1 Peter 2:13-17

Saturday, May 6, 2017Psalm 23; Ezekiel 34:1-16; Luke 15:1-7

 

Fourth Sunday of Easter – May 7, 2017

   – Acts 2:42-47

   – Psalm 23

   – 1 Peter 2:19-25

   – John 10:1-10

 

Monday, May 8, 2017Psalm 100; Ezekiel 34:17-23; 1 Peter 5:1-5

Tuesday, May 9, 2017Psalm 100; Ezekiel 34:23-31; Hebrews 13:20-21

Wednesday, May 10, 2017Psalm 100; Jeremiah 23:1-8; Matthew 20:17-28

Thursday, May 11, 2017Psalm 31:1-5, 15-16; Genesis 12:1-3; Acts 6:8-15

Friday, May 12, 2017Psalm 31:1-5, 15-16; Exodus 3:1-12; Acts 7:1-16

Saturday, May 13, 2017Psalm 31:1-5, 15-16; Jeremiah 26:20-24; John 8:48-59

 

Fifth Sunday of Easter – May 14, 2017

   – Acts 7:55-60

   – Psalm 31:1-5, 15-16

   – 1 Peter 2:2-10

   – John 14:1-14

 

Monday, May 15, 2017Psalm 102:1-17; Exodus 13:17-22; Acts 7:17-40

Tuesday, May 16, 2017Psalm 102:1-17; Proverbs 3:5-12; Acts 7:44-56

Wednesday, May 17, 2017Psalm 102:1-17; Proverbs 3:13-18; John 8:31-38

Thursday, May 18, 2017Psalm 66:8-20; Genesis 6:5-22; Acts 27:1-12

Friday, May 19, 2017Psalm 66:8-20; Genesis 7:1-24; Acts 27:13-38

Saturday, May 20, 2017Psalm 66:8-20; Genesis 8:13-19; John 14:27-29

 

Sixth Sunday of Easter – May 21, 2017

   – Acts 17:22-31

   – Psalm 66:8-20

   – 1 Peter 3:13-22

   – John 14:15-21

 

Monday, May 22, 2017Psalm 93; Genesis 9:8-17; Acts 27:39-44

Tuesday, May 23, 2017Psalm 93; Deuteronomy 5:22-33; 1 Peter 3:8-12

Wednesday, May 24, 2017Psalm 93; Deuteronomy 31:1-13; John 16:16-24

 

Ascension of the Lord – May 25, 2017

   – Acts 1:1-11

   – Psalm 47 or Psalm 93

   – Ephesians 1:15-23

   – Luke 24:44-53

 

Friday, May 26, 2017Psalm 93; 2 Kings 2:1-12; Ephesians 2:1-7

Saturday, May 27, 2017Psalm 93; 2 Kings 2:13-15; John 8:21-30

 

Seventh Sunday of Easter – May 28, 2017

   – Acts 1:6-14

   – Psalm 68:1-10, 32-35

   – 1 Peter 4:12-14; 5:6-11

   – John 17:1-11

 

Monday, May 29, 2017Psalm 99; Leviticus 9:1-11, 22-24; 1 Peter 4:1-6

Tuesday, May 30, 2017Psalm 99; Numbers 16:41-50; 1 Peter 4:7-11

 

Visitation of Mary to Elizabeth  – May 31, 2017

   – 1 Samuel 2:1-10

   – Psalm 113

   – Romans 12:9-16b

   – Luke 1:39-57

 

Wednesday, May 31, 2017Psalm 99; 1 Kings 8:54-65; John 3:31-36


Read more...

About the Revised Common Lectionary

The Revised Common Lectionary is a three-year cycle of weekly lections used to varying degrees by the vast majority of mainline Protestant churches in Canada and the United States. The RCL is built around the seasons of the Church Year, and includes four lections for each Sunday, as well as additional readings for major feast days. During most of the year, the lections are: a reading from the Hebrew Bible, a Psalm, a reading from the Epistles, and a Gospel reading. During the season of Easter, the Hebrew Bible lection is usually replaced with one from the Acts of the Apostles. The lections from the Hebrew Bible are sometimes chosen from the Apocrypha.

The seasons of the Church Year reflect the life of Christ. Consequently, the gospel lections for each Sunday provide the focus for that day. The other lections for a given day generally have a thematic relationship to the gospel reading for that day, although this is not always the case. In Ordinary Time, the Revised Common Lectionary offers two sets of readings for the lessons from the Hebrew Bible. One set proceeds mostly continuously, giving the story of the Patriarchs and the Exodus in Year A, the monarchial narratives in Year B, and readings from the Prophets in Year C. In the other set of readings for Ordinary Time (shown in italics on this site) the readings from the Hebrew Bible are thematically related to the gospel lections. Denominations or local churches generally use either the semicontinuous readings or the thematic readings during Ordinary Time. They do not typically move back and forth between the two over the course of a single season.

The gospel readings for each year come from one of the synoptic gospels according to the following pattern:

  • Year A – Matthew
  • Year B – Mark
  • Year C – Luke
Readings from the Gospel of John can be found throughout the RCL.
 
 

Read more...

April 2017, Year A

 

Fifth Sunday in Lent – April 2, 2017

   – Ezekiel 37:1-14

   – Psalm 130

   – Romans 8:6-11

 

   – John 11:1-45

 

Monday, April 3, 2017Psalm 143; 1 Kings 17:17-24; Acts 20:7-12

Tuesday, April 4, 2017Psalm 143; 2 Kings 4:18-37; Ephesians 2:1-10

Wednesday, April 5, 2017Psalm 143; Jeremiah 32:1-9, 36-41; Matthew 22:23-33

Thursday, April 6, 2017Psalm 31:9-16; 1 Samuel 16:11-13; Philippians 1:1-11

Friday, April 7, 2017Psalm 31:9-16; Job 13:13-19; Philippians 1:21-30

Saturday, April 8, 2017Psalm 31:9-16; Lamentations 3:55-66; Mark 10:32-34

 


Read more...

For more information regarding
the Revised Common Lectionary
check out these resources: